The Year of Action and the Death of Procrastination (…to some extent)

Well…I think it’s pretty obvious from the date of my last post, that I am a terrible procrastinator. In fact, I couldn’t even log into my blog on account of having been away from it for too long.

log in fail

Not a good start. A good analogy that I’ve heard for procrastination is that it’s like a dark playground. You end up spending all this time doing things that should be fun-scrolling through your Facebook, watching videos on Youtube, maybe even reading cleverly-written posts about procrastination…all this stuff that should be fun, but makes you hate yourself at the same time because you really should be doing something more productive.

The aforementioned analogy comes from the article “Why Procrastinators Procrastinate” and “How to Beat Procrastination” is the follow up article. They’re incredibly witty and relatable while also managing to be encouraging and reassuring that you’re not alone in the battle against procrastination. I highly recommend these two reads!

Anyway…I wasn’t planning on ranting on about procrastination, but rather wanted to share my goal for the year. I realized that I spend a lot more time talking about things rather than actually doing them. I do think actions speak louder than words, and I realized that I really wanted to start holding myself more accountable to this idea. This year I’ve decided to try and complete at least one act of kindness per week and share it at on the blog at the end of the week. This way I’ll be able to turn at least one thought into action per week. I think we often forget to appreciate the smaller things in life…I know I often do, especially during stressful times like exam week. Hopefully this will be my little light at the end of the tunnel for the darker weeks, as well as encourage people to participate in a random act of kindness here or there. So here’s to brightening up (at least) 52 days of the year! I’m not going to lie, I’m a little nervous because I do NOT want to lose against my procrastination/laziness/self-doubt, but I’m excited for the year ahead! Best of luck to everyone with accomplishing their goals for 2015. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

